The Tasmania Fire Service consists of over 230 brigades working out of Fire Stations strategically located in communities throughout the State. The TFS has around 250 career firefighters and approximately 4800 volunteer firefighters. Our career firefighters work out of four career brigades; Hobart, Launceston, Burnie and Devonport. Our volunteer brigades protect communities throughout urban, rural and regional Tasmania.

Brigades are trained and equipped to respond with the most appropriate resource to the risk they service to ensure that the best outcomes for the community are achieved. Brigade officers are trained to identify circumstances surrounding the incident. Depending on the complexity of the fire, brigades are supported by regional fire investigators. All fires, whether structural or bushfire, are investigated.

Our firefighters receive ongoing, accredited training in a wide variety of competencies drawn from the Public Safety Training Package. This package includes a range of emergency response and management competencies.

For their safety, all operational brigade members are supplied with protective clothing that meets national standards.

TFS is committed to continue to provide across the State the latest multi-purpose appliances, allowing brigades to respond to both structural and bushfires.

The TFS chain of command is the formal hierarchy that provides lines of accountability and responsibility to all operational members of the TFS. It operates in conjunction with the Tasmania Fire Service operating guidelines and instructions. Emergency incidents are managed using Australian Inter-Agency Incident Management System (AIIMS) Incident Control System (ICS) principles.

Brigades are notified of emergency incidents by the TFS Statewide call receipt and dispatch centre (called Firecomm). Firecomm is located in the State Headquarters in Hobart and operates 24 hours a day.